Welcome to my humble abode! Enjoy your stay here!
Di
Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository


26 May, 2013

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green - Romanian version

I have translated the first chapter of TFiOS! And I'm really proud of it. It's not edited and there might be a LOT of errors and I'm sorry. I will not edit it because I have school shit to do.



Open publication - Free publishing

Happy reading! Also, I was not, in any way, related or payed by Trei publishing company to translate this. I did this all by myself and no income has been made by this.

Goodbye,
J.

25 May, 2013

TV shows and music.

Some things have been going on in my life in the few weeks. I have settled on a university I want to apply for next year! And I am really happy about it!
I will be taking Romanian private lessons because I have this huge exam next year and I really have to take a huge mark.
I have chosen a topic for my graduation thesis! We have to do those in Romania. And I LOVE MY TOPIC!
Also, a lot of tv shows have stopped airing last week, which is unfortunate. And I really want to see if there are people who have the same weird combo of tv show related tastes!
Here's a little list of shows I watch:

On Tuesday I'm downloading How I Met Your Mother! I really like this show. Even if they're making it too long and all that shit, AT LEAST WE KNOW WHO THE MUM IS NOW! AND SHE'S SO ADORABLE!
Also on Tuesday, I watch 2 broke girls. THAT SHOW IS AWESOME! It sometimes contains cheesiness, but I'm fine with it.,

Three days later I have to watch 3 shows! Which are all different!
The first I always watch is The Big Bang Theory! I love it because it's really funny and if you don't watch it or you don't like it, YOU HAVE NO LIFE!
The next I watch is Glee AND I REGRET NOTHING! I know a lot of people say it's bullshit and all that shit, but I think it's awesome and I love it a lot. I'm only there for the Klaine. Also, here's an advice for the next season Blaine: PLEASE DON'T DO SOMETHING STUPID CUZ I WILL SHOOT YOU!
And the last but not least show I watch every Friday when it's broadcast is Grey's Anatomy. I've been watching this ever since it was on tv when I was about 11-12 and I started watching it from the beginning to end for about two years or so. I really like it.
On Sundays I watch The Voice UK (and also on Mondays) whenever it's broadcast and also Doctor Who! But I don't always watch Doctor Who, but I've seen the season finale. I CRIED LIKE A BABY! OH, MY GOD, THE FEELS!

And here's other shows that I watch and I just simply adore! I watch That 70's Show occasionally when I'm on the other computer and I eat or I really just want to watch it. I'm at episode 8, season 7, and I can see that it's already going a bit downhill :\ I've heard a lot about Misfits and, finally, my cousin told me what it was about! And I've started watching it! (here's a fandom I'm never gonna get out of) I just fucking love it! Nathan is just simply hilarious! I love him *hugs him* I just finished watching the first season about an hour ago. I really want to continue watching it now but I can't because I have to do this stupid project I have for my French class.

Finally, school is ending in 4 weeks which will pass by very fast, and summer break is going to start and I WILL HAVE A FUCKLOAD OF TIME TO WASTE! And I also need to watch a lot of movies for my graduation thesis. So I decided that this summer I will start watching more TV shows. I want to start watching Doctor Who from episode 1 of the first season with Eccleson and also 30 rock and Supernatural, because I've seen an episode with Felicia Day in it and IT WAS AWESOME! Also rewatch the whole Sherlock series. I'm pretty sure there are a lot of other TV shows I wanna start or rewatch but I can't remember any other shows I want to watch.
Because the next 4 weeks will be so busy, I will not be able to watch any movies and when the summer break will begin, I will be able to do so! I really want to watch Star Trek, the 2009 movie and also the new movie that JUST GOT RELEASED! I advise you, if you're a Cumberbitch, to watch the Graham Norton Show with Benedict Cumberbatch and with Chris Pine. IT WAS HILARIOUS!

In the title, it also says "music". This is a huge part of my life. I listen to music in almost every awake moment I have, and I pay attention a lot when listening to it and I especially want to know if the singer is writing their own songs because that's not really easy and my appreciation to a person grows if they write songs.
In the past few weeks I've discovered some really good music from various bands or artists. My first discovery was Bastille. I found out about Flaws by them from padfootandprongs from youtube and I really really liked the song. And I couldn't stop listening to it. And I downloaded their album, Bad Blood, which is AN INCREDIBLY GOOD ALBUM! The vocalist is AMAZING! I love this band.
A former discovery was Bruno Mars' album Unorthodox Jukebox. The title speaks for itself. It really is an unorthodox jukebox. All the songs are AMAZING! They're really really good. My favourite song is Treasure.
One of the most awesome bands in the world is 30 seconds to mars. And they released an album a few days ago and I listened to it yesterday AND I JUST LOVE IT! It's an amazing comeback, even if it's different, and probably not as rockish.
Also, today, I listened to these covers on youtube of this awesome dude called Noah, he did the best cover of Sexy and I know it ever, and I saw that he covered Hey Ho by the lumineers! So I downloaded their whole album, called The Lumineers, and I'm listening to it right now AND I'M LOVIN' IT!

Here're some of my favourite songs atm:





After bothering you with such a long post, I have to say that I have to go.
Goodbye,
J.

14 May, 2013

CONCURS: Divergent si Insurgent de Veronica Roth

If you're not Romanian, leave.

Pentru cei interesati, s-a deschis un concurs pe un blog unde poti castiga carile din titlu. Deci cei care vor sa se inscrie o pot face aici:

http://vis-saurealitate.blogspot.ro/2013/05/concurs-divergent-si-insurgent-de.html

11 May, 2013

Yup 2.0

I haven't read these books yet, the last one not being released yet, but still, but I JUST SAW THE COVER OF THE LAST ONE!.


IT'S SO PRETTY!!


Also, this was released two days ago while I was in my music theory class:


IT'S SO AWESOME. WHY CAN'T OCTOBER COME FASTER?!?!?!

(also, I might just do a personal analysis of the Allegiant cover)

Yup.



Apparently Ansel Elgort has been cast as Augustus Waters in the future The Fault in Our Stars movie.
I think I'm quite pleased with that.

05 May, 2013

May.

Apparently, it's already May! Which is kinda cool. Only a month and approximately a half until school year ends! Aweyeah!
I've read about 4 books the previous month, which makes me kinda proud!
A few months ago I came across the youtube channel of Ariel Bissett. One of her most recent videos was about reading challenges are really nasty and aren't really good.



I challenged myself at the beginning of this year to read 50 books. After watching the video I was like, you can't read 50 books and also enjoy them. You need to read a book/week and I don't think that's easy for everyone. I forced myself to read some books sometimes. I read a book and I forgot everything that happened in the book just because I was reading it so fast. I lowered my challenge to 30 books this year and I'm going to be really happy if I finish the challenge. If I read more than that, I would be a lot more proud. But you should never push yourself to read a book. You should enjoy the book. To quote Ariel: Don't read to read; read to enjoy.

Anywho, I have read 4 books this previous month and I've already read a book in May, and I'm really really happy with that! From the books I wanted to read, I read 4 of them (obviously).
The first book I finished was Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I loved this book. It was really good. I wasn't really into the fact that she used a LOT of metaphors and it was a tiny bit too dramatic, but I loved loved loved the world and character building. I kinda had a crush on Warner and a bit on Kenji after I finished the book. Yup!
For the second book I finished Delirium by Lauren Oliver. I wasn't actually that satisfied with it so I didn't actually finish it, mostly because I lent my book to my best friend and she lives in Bucharest now and I live in the north of the country and she'll only come home in about two months. I don't think I will actually finish the book until then. I didn't enjoy it that much. I didn't like that the love disease didn't seem real to me and it seemed exaggerated. I didn't quite like Alex that much. Meh.
The third place is taken by A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I must just say that I loved this book a lot. Loved that Sherlock was so adorable at the beginning. I skipped the part with the backstory and why the murderer did what he did, because I didn't feel like it was important to read, no offense. I really loved this book It was really really good.
And the last, but not least, book that I read and finished this previous month is Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I actually really liked this book! I wasn't expecting it to be this good. Probably people didn't like the book that much because it was a bit repetative with all those 7 days, but I really liked it! I really started shipping Sam with Kent only when he appeared in the story. Aweyeaaah! Lauren Oliver, you should be PROUD of me!!

So for the May reads I will only put up 2 books that I really want to read, the others will be all random. I cannot read right now, and I'm feeling like a reading slump is about to start because I finished (for the forth time) The Fault in Our Stars and I just can't It's impossible. No.
I really would like to read 13 Little Envelopes by Maureen Johnson (THEY HAVE HER BOOKS IN ROMANIA WTFWTFWTF!!) and the second book that I need to read and also review is One by LeighAnn Kopans. I (shamefully) asked for the book and if I could review it, and I really want to read it because it has an AWESOME synopsis. I actually dreamed the night after she gave me the book that I was hovering like Merrin in the book does! You can find the synopsis in Goodreads!!

Also this month, THE ROMANIAN VERSIONS OF THE FAULT IN OUR STARS AND THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER WILL APPEAR! FUCK YEAH! I'll also add them to my list. Effyeah!

Here are the gorgeous covers of these gorgeous books!!

Translation: The Diary of a Wallflower
Translation: Under the Same Star




















I'm really really happy with the covers. Imagine a very sexy Logan Lerman on my bookshelf! Aweyeah! I'm still trying to get used to the cover of Tfios. It's kinda fine, but I made a cover that is exactly like the original Tfios cover, but in Romanian. It looks really good!

Well, I'll be waiting for the books now! I'm really looking forward to them!

















Anyway, I'll try to translate the whole first chapter of Tfios in Romanian and give you a little tease of how it will look like in Romanian. Surely, the translations will be very different from mine and the actual translator, but I won't make it, like, cheesy.

Goodbye,
J.

A review: The Fault in Our Stars

(I wrote this yesterday after finishing the book)

I think it impossible to write a satisfying review for this book, especially a review that doesn't include a shitload of spoilers that will make every reader hate you.
So I'm going to write the shortest, bestest* review I can write.

With this book you laugh, you cry, you cheer, you hope and you wish that a lot of things didn't happen. You also fall in love. You fall in love with everything; with Hazel, with Augustus (mostly with him, duuh), with Isaac, with the world you're living in because you see that you should not take it for granted. For me, I started having a soft spot for everyone that suffers from this bloody stupid disease. I hate it.
Like Hazel, I think that this book should be read by a lot of people, but it feels personal if you give it to some people and it feels like you're giving them a part of your soul.
Some people might just simply dislike this book because Hazel and Augustus seem to posh and pretencious and too intelectual. That is true but that's not a reason to hate the book. I still think that this is the best book I've ever read. It's so complex and so full of everything! You can literally feel ALL THE FEELS! And you know this book is going to be epic only by reading the title. Who other than John Green could come up with such a brilliant title for a book?
You learn SO MANY THINGS from reading this book! There are too many to list here. You learn to love and live and it's also so beautiful!
I think I should stop writing things because I might get repetative and I don't want that.

*I know bestest isn't a word. JUDGE ME!